Norwegian version of this page

Anders Jahre's Awards for Medical Research

Anders Jahre's Awards for Medical Research honor research of outstanding quality in basic and clinical medicine. The prizes are awarded by the University of Oslo and are among the largest within Nordic biomedical research.

Call for nominations 2023

All professors of medicine serving in a Nordic country are now invited to nominate potential awardees. The deadline is 1 February 2023.

Two medical prizes are awarded each year:

  • The Anders Jahre Medical Prize for outstanding scientific activity or results within Nordic medicine. The prize amounts to NOK 1 000 000 (approximately €108200).
  • The Anders Jahre Medical Prize to young medical investigators within the Nordic countries. The candidate must be below the age of 40 by June 15, 2022. NOK 400 000 (approximately €43 300).

Winners 2022

The 2022 Anders Jahre Award for Medical Research and its NOK 1 million prize

Is awarded to Professor Harald A. Stenmark, University of Oslo.

Professor Stenmark receives this award for his groundbreaking research on the structure and function of membrane proteins. The findings of the award winner are important for understanding and treating diseases such as cardiovascular disease, cancer and psychiatric disorders. The award is in the sum of NOK 1 million.

Portrettbilde av Stenmark
Foto: Øystein Horgmo

The Anders Jahre Award for young researchers and its NOK 400,000 prize

Is jointly awarded to Lecturer Lars Wiuff Andersen and Lecturer Lykke Sylow.

Portrettbilde av professor Barbara von loon
Lektor Lars Wiuff Andersen

Lecturer Lars Wiuff Andersen, Aarhus University, is awarded the prize for his outstanding studies of treatments for cardiac arrest.

Portrettbilde av professor Barbara von loon
Lektor Lykke Sylow. Foto: Lars Svankjær/Videnskabernes Selskab

Lecturer Lykke Sylow, University of Copenhagen, is awarded the prize for her outstanding studies of molecular metabolic causes of loss of muscle mass in patients with cancer and type 2 diabetes.

About the award

In 1953, Anders Jahre, a Norwegian shipowner, entrepreneur and philanthropist, donated one million Norwegian kroner to the University of Oslo, later followed by several additional endowments. These were used to establish the Anders Jahre Foundation for the Promotion of Science.

Previous prize winners

The Anders Jahre's Award for Medical Research was bestowed for the first time in 1960. Since 1965, the award has consisted of two prizes: a main prize and a prize for young scientists.



Ingunn Rode Grorud
Tel: 23 07 13 72

The Award Ceremony

The Selection Commitee