Norwegian version of this page

Previous winners of The University of Oslo Human Rights Award

The prize has been awarded since 1986.

Image may contain: People, Street fashion, Fashion accessory.2020: Marcelline Budza

The University of Oslo Human Rights Award 2019 was awarded to Marcelline Budza from the Democratic Republic of Congo. Budza is an agronomist, entrepreneur and founder of the coffee cooperative Rebuild Women's Hope Association, which brings together more than 5,000 women and has made it possible for many women to regain financial independence and become active participants in society and the economy.

Portrait of Seyran Ates2019: Seyran Ates

The University of Oslo Human Rights Award 2019 was awarded to the female imam Seyran Ates. Ates is a lawyer, author and imam in the liberal Ibn Rushd-Goethe mosque in Berlin. In her work Seyran Ates has raised awareness of how important it is that all citizens must respect universal human rights and democratic rules of play.


Portrett av prisvinner Nora Sveaass - foto Ola Sæther/ Uniforum

2018: Nora Sveaass

The University of Oslo Human Rights Award 2018 was awarded to Nora Sveaass, professor in Psychology at the University of Oslo. Sveaass has worked with refugees, human rights violations and psychological consequences of this, as well as treatment and rehabilitation of people exposed to torture and other serious abuse.

Portrett av prisvinner Ishtar Gözaydin 2017: Ishtar Gözaydin

The University of Oslo Human Rights Award 2017 went to the Turkish academic, social commentator and human rights defender Ishtar Gözaydin. Dr. Gözaydin is an important representative for academics who are being persecuted worldwide.


Portrett av prisvinner Diana Kordon.2016: Diana Kordon

The 2016 Human Rights Award went to Argentinian psychiatrist, anti-torture activist and human rights defender Dr. Diana Kordon. For more than 40 years Dr. Kordon has provided psychological assistance and treatment for trauma to victims of torture and gross human rights violations in Argentina.


Portrett av prisvinner 2o15 Deeyah Khan2015: Deeyah Khan

Deeyah Khan, artist and champion of women's rights, was awarded the University of Oslo Human Rights Award 2015. Deeyah Khan has shed an important light on women's rights and freedom of speech, and also focused on the dangers of radicalization among youth.


Portrett av prisvinner Fabrizio Gatti.2014: Fabrizio Gatti

Italian author and journalist Fabrizio Gatti received the award for his reporting and books on the extortion and exploitation of desperate migrants on their journey through the deserts of Africa and across the Mediterranean, the drowning accidents and the push-backs that refugees encounter at the hands of border guards and coastguards in their attempts to reach Europe.

Bilde av prisvinner Manfred Novak2013: Professor Manfred Nowak

Professor Nowak is regarded as one of the foremost advocates of human rights internationally. Through his efforts as the UN’s Special Rapporteur on Torture from 2004 to 2010, and also through a wide range of other assignments for international organizations, governments and NGOs, he has manifested an indefatigable and courageous defence of fundamental human rights.

2012: Robert Quinn

Robert Quinn at Scholars at Risk received the award for his relentless work to protect the human rights of academics and for having inspired and engaged others to stress the importance of academic freedom.

2011: Nawal El Saadawi

Saadawi received the award for her tireless efforts and active international engagement. Her contributions to improving women’s social and intellectual freedom and legal status were particularly highlighted.


Portrett av prisvinner Biserko2010: Sonja Biserko

Biserko received the award for her tireless efforts and active international involvement in human rights. Especially for her efforts in working with refugees, documentation of war crimes and women's rights.



Previous winners: 2009 - 1986

2009: Nils Johan Lavik

Lavik received the award for his long-term commitment and work for refugees in Norway, and to have contributed to enhancing knowledge of and respect for human rights among doctors and medical staff.

2008: Erik Møse

Møse received the prize for his tireless efforts and his active international involvement for many years for the promotion of human rights.

2007: Khaled Abou El Fadl

El Fadl received the prize for his prolific and insightful analysis of Islamic Law and Human Rights.

2006: Ole Henrik Magga

Magga was awarded for his tireless efforts and active international involvement for the Sami indigenous people in Norway and recognition of  indigenous peoples worldwide through a number of years.

2005: Theo van Boven

Theo van Boven received the prize for his long-lasting and fruitful contribution to fight torture, enforced disappearance and other severe violations of human rights.

2002:  Asma Jahangir

The Pakistani lawyer and human rights activist received the prize for her fight against honour killings in her home country, and her international work as UN Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions.

2001: Magen David Adom (MDA) and the Palistine Red Cresent Society (PRCS)

They received the prize for their outstanding humanitarian contribution during the present conflict in the Middle East.

2000: Radhika Coomaraswamy

The Sri Lankan director of the International Centre for Ethnic Studies in Colombo, and the United Nations special rapporteur on violence against women, including its causes and consequences.

1998: Maria Paz Rojaz Baeza

The Chilean doctor and human rights activist, received the prize as a recognition of her work with torture victims and her involvement in human rights issues in South America.

1996: Felice Lieh Mak

A Chinese professor of psychiatry who has actively fought against laws of discrimination (forced abortion, mentally retarded) proposed by the Chinese authorities.

1995: Adam Demaci

The Kosovar-Albanian author received the prize for his non-violent opposition to the Serb occupation.

1994: Kristian Ottosen

Ottosen received the prize for his lifetime work of documenting the fate of all Norwegians who were captured by the Nazis and incarcerated in Germany during World War II.

1993: Gerhard Schoenberner

Schoenberner received the prize for his activities to teach Germans about the terrors of the Nazis. 

1992: Lopez and Marcelliano

Lopez and Marcelliano received the prize for their fight against violence and torture in the Philippines.

1991: Eigil Nansen

Nansen received the prize for his work with refugees and human rights.

1990: Georg Klein

The Swedish pathologist received the prize for his life long dedication to humanistic work.

1989: Inge Genefke

Genefke received the prize for her work at the rehabilitation centre for torture victims in Copenhagen.

1988: Robert Lifton

Lifton received the prize for his study on the aftermath of the atomic bomb and the psychology of Nazi-KZ-doctors.

1987: A. Koragin

The Russian psychiatrist received the prize for his fight against the political misuse of psychiatry.

1986: Elie Wiesel

Wiesel got the prize for his outstanding contribution toward the humanization of humanity and thereby to the cause of peace.

Published May 15, 2018 3:05 PM - Last modified Feb. 22, 2021 2:18 PM