Norwegian version of this page

Conferment of honorary doctoral degrees

Honorary doctoral degrees of UiO (Doctor Honoris Causa) are given to prominent, often foreign, academics. They are awarded without a thesis defence/disputation. Since 1824 UiO has been entitled to appoint honorary doctorates. They are usually appointed every three years at UiO's Annual Celebration on or around September 2.

Honorary doctoral degrees in 2020

In 2020 honorary doctoral degrees of UiO (Doctor Honoris Causa) are given to 15 academics.


External Relations Office

About the Honorary Doctoral Degree

An institution that holds the right to confer a doctorate can award the degree of honorary doctor (Doctor Honoris Causa) in the same subject areas for significant scientific efforts or outstanding work for the benefit of science.

Rules and guidelines

Adopted by the University Board on May 4, 2004, amended June 14, 2011, these regulations guide the procedure for appointing honorary doctorates at the University of Oslo.

Previous Honorary Doctoral Degree Conferments

The University of Oslo has conferred doctoral degrees since 1902 (Links in Norwegian)