University of Oslo allies with 16 leading European universities

The Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities aims to promote groundbreaking research and strengthen the European research area. Basic research of the highest quality is required to find innovative solutions to our greatest societal challenges. On 21 November The Guild launches its first public event in Brussels.

Research-intensive universities are at the heart of the knowledge society and essential to solving the great societal challenges the world is facing.

"Great opportunities open when the barriers between countries, institutions, disciplines, researchers, companies and users are torn down. The Guild will work for academic freedom, mobility of students and researchers, open access to research and open innovation", says Ole Petter Ottersen, Rector of the University of Oslo and Chair of The Guild.

The Guild will be a driver for informed policy decisions in Europe, and help safeguard the central role of universities in future EU research and innovation programmes.

"The Guild gives us a unique platform for dialogue with key decision makers in Europe", says Ottersen.

Opening Symposium: Overcoming Boundaries – Open Science and Open Innovation

The Guild's Opening Symposium will engage with the practice of Open Science and Open Innovation from the perspectives of research-intensive universities. Professor Alexander Refsum Jensenius from the University of Oslo’s Department of Musicology will share his own story of how open online sharing of software tools that he developed to study the movements of dancers led to innovation in a completely different field. Today, the software is being tested in hospitals to detect early signs of cerebral palsy in infants.

 "The symposium brings us right into the heart of the discussions about how university research can help us find new and innovative solutions to today's major challenges", says Ottersen.

The Opening Symposium takes place at the Solvay Library in Brussels (1040, Rue Belliard 137) at 5 p.m.-8 p.m.

More information about The Guild.

The universities that are part of The Guild are Aarhus University, The University of Bologna, Ghent University, The University of Glasgow, The University of Göttingen, The University of Groningen, Jagiellonian University (Krakow), King's College London, Radboud University, University of Ljubljana, University of Louvain, The University of Oslo, University of Paris Diderot, University of Tartu, The University of Tübingen, Uppsala University, and The University of Warwick.

For more information:

Press Officer, University of Oslo: +47 930 77 006

Published Nov. 17, 2016 3:22 PM