Norwegian version of this page

17 Professors of Law encourage Storting President to review procedures for selection to Nobel Peace Price Committee

In a letter sent to the Storting President Nov. 29, 17 Law Professors from the University of Oslo, The University of Bergen, and the University of Tromsø write that the Storting's procedures for election to the Nobel Peace Prize Commitee should be reviewed in light of Nobel's will and testament.

People on stone wall.
Photo: Illustrasjonsbilde: Colourbox

The current process where political parties nominate candidates to the committee that are confirmed in the Storting have been a frequent issue of discussion this fall, but it has been debated for many years. 

- There is nothing in Nobel's will and testament about the Storting electing members that represent the different political parties, says Alf Petter Høgberg, Professor at the Department of Public and International Law at the University of Oslo. 

The Law Professors concern is that the members of parliament don't fit the will that it should be made up of the "the best qualified for the purpose of the Peace Prize."

- In order for the Peace Prize to maintain it's status as an independent award there has to be made changes that secure that the prize is well founded, says Professor Malcolm Langford at the Department of Public and International Law.

The letter was also sent to the political party groups at the Storting, and Rødt made a §8 suggestion promoting change.


The letter was signed by the following Professors:

Professor em. dr. philos. Kristian Andenæs, UiO

Professor dr. juris Finn Arnesen, UiO

Professor dr. juris Cecilia Marcela Bailliet, UiO

Professor Nils A. Butenschøn, UiO

Professor dr. juris Thomas Eeg, UiB

Professor dr. juris Terje Einarsen, UiB

Professor dr. juris Gunnar Ketil Eriksen, UiT

Professor em. Stein Evju, UiO

Professor dr. juris Anne Hellum, UiO

Professor dr. juris Alf Petter Høgberg, UiO

Professor, PhD Jørn Jacobsen, UiB

Professor dr. juris PhD Sören Koch, UiB

Professor PhD Malcolm Langford, UiO

Professor dr. juris Alla Pozdnakova, UiO

Professor dr. juris Kirsten Sandberg, UiO

Professor dr. juris Jo Stigen, UiO

Professor em. dr. juris Aslak Syse, UiO

Published Dec. 7, 2017 11:32 PM - Last modified Apr. 22, 2020 4:16 PM