Sharing and interacting in G Suite
Documents you write in the online version of G Suite at UiO is automatically stored on Google Drive, which is Googles file storage and synchronization service.
The documents you write in Drive (which is the equivalent of Microsoft's OneDrive) is basically only available to you, but you can choose to open a folder or a document and share with others.
NB! The users you want to share with must also have a Google account.
Rules for sharing – what do I have to remember?
You can share with anyone, also with users that are not UiO users. This means that everyone who receive a link to your document can read it if you have given them access (as long as they have a Google account). This is why you must be wary of who and how you share with. Remember, it is your responsibility to have an overview of who has access to what.
Share with writing permission or viewing permission?
Share by typing the name or the e-mail address of the person you would like to share with by clicking share, under Invite people.
The default setting is both writing and viewing permission, Can edit. If you do not want this you can change the setting to Can comment or Can view.
The default setting for sharing links is that the receiver of the link is given viewing permission (Can view)
If the link is open and you do not want the link to be available for others forever, you must change this setting to Off - specific people. You must also go to advanced settings and remove the people that you no longer want to give access.
Stopping re-sharing and downloading
Especially in research projects where yellow data is being shared it may be a good idea to not let other users share the documents with others. This is how you do it:
- Right click on the document you want to share.
- Click Advanced in the share window on the bottom right.
- Under Owner settings, tick the box Prevent editors from changing access and adding new people.
- Tick the box Disable options for download, print, copy to prevent downloads.
Remember to Save changes.
Sharing with users outside of UiO
Because of safety reasons a pop up will with a warning will appear every time you share something with someone who is not a UiO user.