Primary works:

Lewis Carroll (1832—98), Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There (1871) in The Annotated Alice, ed. Martin Gardner (Penguin, 2001)

Oscar Wilde (1854—1900), The Importance of Being Earnest (1895), ed. Michael Patrick Gillespie (Norton Critical Edition, 2006)


Charlotte Brontë (1816—55), Jane Eyre (1847), ed. Richard J. Dunn (Norton Critical Edition, 1999)

Charles Dickens (1812—70), Great Expectations (1860—1), ed. Edgar Rosenberg (Norton Critical Edition, 1999)

George Eliot (1819—80), Middlemarch (1871—2), ed. Bert G. Hornback, 2nd edn (Norton Critical Edition, 2000)

Thomas Hardy (1840—1928), Tess of the D’Urbervilles (1891), ed. Tim Dolin (Penguin, 2003)


Alfred, Lord Tennyson (1809—92), In Memoriam A. H. H. (1850) ‘Prologue’ and 1, 7, 21, 34—35, 54—56, 95, 118, 124, 130.

Christina Rossetti (1830—94), Goblin Market (1862)

Matthew Arnold (1822—88), ‘Dover Beach’ (1867)

George Meredith (1828—1909), Modern Love 30 (‘What are we first? First, animals; and next’) (1862)

Robert Browning (1812—89), ‘Caliban upon Setebos’ (1864)

Rudyard Kipling (1865—1936), ‘The White Man’s Burden’, (1903), ‘If—’ (1910), ‘The Way Through the Woods’ (1910), ‘The Land’ (1917)

Gerard Manley Hopkins (1844—89), ‘Pied Beauty’, ‘The Windhover’ (published posthumously, 1918)

A. E. Housman (1859—1936), ‘To an Athlete Dying Young’ and ‘Under Wenlock Edge the Wood’s in Trouble’ (A Shropshire Lad, 1896, nos XIX and XXXI)

All poems except Meredith’s ‘What are we first?’, Housman’s ‘Under Wenlock Edge the Wood’s in Trouble’, and Kipling’s ‘The Way Through the Woods’ and ‘The Land’ may be read in Stephen Greenblatt et al., eds, The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 8th edition (2006)—in the two-volume edition, volume 2.

Good texts of Kipling’s and Housman’s (widely anthologized) poems are in print, and are also available on LION Database.

Secondary literature:

Robin Gilmour, The Victorian Period: The Intellectual and Cultural Context of English Literature, 1830—90 (Longman Literature In English Series) (Harlow: Longman, 1993), paperback

Published Dec. 12, 2007 5:51 PM - Last modified Dec. 12, 2007 5:51 PM