Norwegian version of this page

Grading and grading scales


Grading scales

The University of Oslo employs either a grading scale with pass/fail values or a grading scale with letter values from A to F. The faculty decides which grading scale is used in a course.


The pass/fail scale is applied as an independent scale with only two possible results. The scale is not connected to the letter grades, and the university does not convert the grades in connection with recognition.

Letter grades

The grading scale with letter values is a descending scale where A is the best grade, E the lowest pass grade and F is fail. The assessment is based on defined, qualitative criteria for each grade in the grading scale.

Below you find the general, qualitative descriptions of the criterias used in the assessment of examinations.

Some subject area have specified more detailed criterias for the assessment.

A – Excellent

An excellent performance, clearly outstanding. The candidate demonstrates excellent judgement and a high degree of independent thinking.

B – Very good

A very good performance. The candidate demonstrates sound judgement and a very good degree of independent thinking.

C – Good

A good performance in most areas. The candidate demonstrates a reasonable degree of judgement and independent thinking in the most important areas.

D – Satisfactory

A satisfactory performance, but with significant shortcomings. The candidate demonstrates a limited degree of judgement and independent thinking.

E – Sufficient

A performance that meets the minimum criteria, but no more. The candidate demonstrates a very limited degree of judgement and independent thinking.

F – Fail

A performance that does not meet the minimum academic criteria. The candidate demonstrates an absence of both judgement and independent thinking.

Earlier grading system

UiO changed the grading system in 2003. Read about the grading system before 2003.


Published Dec. 3, 2014 4:17 PM - Last modified Apr. 21, 2020 1:53 PM