Research organisation

The researchers are organised in four research clusters.

Within these research clusters are interdisciplinary research groups each focusing on a different aspect of rhythm.

Centre management

Centre Director Professor Anne Danielsen


Head of Administration Anne Cathrine Wesnes


Steering Committee

Mathilde Skoie, leader of the board.
Dean of Research, the Faculty of Humanities


Peter Edwards
Head of Department - Department of Musicology, University of Oslo


Ellen Munthe-Kaas
Head of Department - Department of Informatics, University of Oslo


Pål Kraft
Head of Department - Department of Psychology, University of Oslo


Scientific Advisory Board

The members of RITMO's Scientific Advisory Board are highly acclaimed researchers within their respective fields. The Board is vital to providing feedback on on-going and future research, and its members have been carefully chosen to support the different parts of RITMO.

Professor Georgina Born is Professor of Music and Anthropology at the Faculty of Music, University of Oxford.
Professor Nicola Dibben is Professor in the Department of Music, University of Sheffield.
 Dr. Rebecca Fiebrink is a Senior Lecturer in Computing at Goldsmiths, University of London.
Professor Jonathan Sterne is Professor and James McGill Chair in Culture and Technology at the Department of Art History and Communication Studies, McGill University.


Professor Serge Lacasse is Professor in Musicology at Université Laval.
Professor Marc Leman is "Methusalem" research professor in systematic musicology and director of IPEM, the research center of the musicology department at Ghent University.
Professor Xavier Serra is Professor of the Department of Information and Communication Technologies at Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona.
Professor Robert T. Knight is a Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience at Berkeley, University of California.


Professor Andy Tyrell is Professor and Head of Department at the Department of Electronic Engineering, University of York.
Professor Peter Vuust is Professor at the Center for Music in the Brain, Aarhus University.