University Board

The University Board is the University of Oslo's highest decision-making body.

The Board has 11 members and consists of a chairperson, three members elected from among the employees with teaching and research positions, one member elected from among the technical and administrative staff, two members elected from the student body and four external members. The Rector is the chairperson.

The Board's responsibilities

The Board is responsible for ensuring that the institution maintains high academic standards and is run efficiently and in accordance with current laws and rules. All institutional decisions made by parties other than the Board shall be made following delegation from the Board and are the responsibility of the Board.

The Board's main tasks

The Board's main tasks are to draw up the strategy for the institution's educational and research activities and lay plans for its academic development.
The Board shall establish goals and performance requirements and is responsible for ensuring that the institution's financial resources and property are managed in accordance with the rules and regulations laid down by the authorities.
The Board shall issue instructions to the institution's administration and supervise its operations.

The University Director is the Board's secretary.


Postal address P-O. Box 1072 0316 Oslo Visiting address Lucy Smith's Building Problemveien 7 Phone: + 47 22 85 63 29 Email: